The 9 classes of dangerous goods

Hazardous or dangerous goods are materials or items with hazardous properties which, if not properly controlled present a potential hazard to human health and safety, infrastructure and/or their means of transport.

Dangerous goods, often recognised as hazardous materials, may be pure chemicals, mixtures of substances, manufactured products or articles which can pose a risk to people, animals or the environment if not properly handled in use or in transport.

The UN Model Regulations use a classification system in which each dangerous substance or article is assigned to a CLASS, depending on the nature of the danger it presents. There are 9 Classes, some of which are sub-divided. Click on the class to read more: 

1. Explosives

2. Gases

3. Flammable Liquids

4. Flammable Solids

5. Oxidizing Substances

6. Toxic & Infectious Substances

7. Radioactive Material

8. Corrosives

9. Miscellaneous Dangerous Goods

Contact our Dangerous Goods Specialist for more information

Read our white paper on dangerous goods